Main Content

President Approves Emergency Declaration For California

Main Content
Release date: 
September 14, 2005
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Today President George W. Bush declared that a state of emergency exists in the State of California and ordered Federal aid to supplement Commonwealth and local response efforts to help people evacuated from their homes due to Hurricane Katrina.

Assistance is available to state and eligible local governments for emergency protective measures that are undertaken to save lives and protect public health and safety. Emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, will be provided at 100 percent federal funding.

This action provides emergency assistance and funds to those areas beginning on August 29, 2005, and continuing. All 58 counties of California are included in the designation.

The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) named Karen E. Armes as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

A total of 38 states and Washington, D.C. are now included in emergency declarations.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top