Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers Open To Assist Victims Of Severe Storms And Flooding

Release date: 
April 23, 2005
Release Number: 

TRENTON, N.J. -- The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the New Jersey Office of Emergency Management (NJOEM) announced today the opening of Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) to serve victims of severe storms and flooding in Bergen, Essex, Gloucester, Hunterdon, Mercer, Morris, Passaic, Sussex, and Warren counties.

Before visiting a DRC, victims should register for assistance by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800 462 7585 for those who are hearing or speech-impaired. The FEMA teleregistration line is open 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. seven days a week, until further notice. You can also register online at

DRCs provide individuals an opportunity to meet face to face with representatives from state, federal and voluntary agencies to get answers to any recovery questions they may have. Loan officers from the U.S. Small Business Administration are on hand to help individuals fill out loan applications and answer questions. Mitigation personnel can provide applicants with information and advice on how to repair or rebuild a flooded home or structure safely. It is not mandatory to visit a DRC to receive FEMA assistance.

DRC hours of operation are Mon. – Sat. 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., until further notice. The following is a list of locations:

Opening Monday, April 25:

Little Falls Municipal Complex
225 Main Street
Little Falls, NJ

Stockton Borough Hall
2 South Main Street
Stockton Borough, NJ

War Memorial Building
Delaware River Room
John Fitch Way
Trenton, NJ

Harmony Fire House
440 Brainards Road
Harmony Twp, NJ

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: