Main Content

Putnam And Montgomery Counties Designated For Public Assistance

Release date: 
March 22, 2005
Release Number: 

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Two additional Ohio counties have been added to the disaster declaration for public assistance for aid to local governments affected by the severe winter storms and flooding that began December 22, federal officials announced today.

The additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data in Putnam and Montgomery counties gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Under the expanded assistance affected local governments are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved eligible disaster related costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

This brings to 59 the number of Ohio counties that are eligible for Public Assistance under the February 15 federal disaster declared as a result of major damages caused by winter storms and flooding.

Counties previously declared eligible for Adams, Allen, Ashland, Athens, Auglaize, Belmont, Brown, Carroll, Champaign, Clermont, Columbiana, Coshocton, Crawford, Darke, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Guernsey, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Henry, Highland, Hocking, Holmes, Huron, Jefferson, Knox, Licking, Logan, Lorain, Marion, Medina, Meigs, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Paulding, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Richland, Ross, Scioto, Seneca, Shelby, Stark, Tuscarawas, Union, Van Wert, Washington, Wayne and Wyandot counties.

The Ohio Emergency Management Agency coordinates the state's response and recovery from the State of Ohio Emergency Operations Center. One of the primary focuses of the agency is to ensure that Ohio citizens are prepared to respond to and recover from an emergency or disaster and to lead mitigation efforts against the effects of future disasters. During times of disasters, Ohio EMA coordinates activities of responding state agencies and maintains liaison with similar agencies of other states and of the federal government.

EMA prepares the nation for all hazards and effectively manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: