Main Content

National Flood Insurance Program provides protection for all seasons

Main Content
Release date: 
March 21, 2005
Release Number: 

Las Vegas, Nev -- Federal officials are reminding Nevada residents that everyone lives in a flood zone. Floods can be caused by many events to include storms and melting snow or water backup due to an overloaded drainage system. Flooding is the leading cause of property loss from natural disasters in this country.

“One of the best ways to financially protect your home, business and personal property is by purchasing flood insurance,” said Philip Parr, federal coordinating officer for the Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Flood insurance is available to all residents in Lincoln and Clark counties whether the property is located within a flood zone or not.

What you need to know about flood insurance:

  • Homeowner’s insurance does not cover flood damage or loss.
  • Flood insurance is available for homeowners, businesses, and individuals with a home business.
  • Contents coverage is available to homeowners, renters and businesses.
  • Federal flood insurance can be purchased through most major insurance agents or by calling 1-800-427-2419 to find an agent near you.
  • There is a 30-day waiting period before coverage goes into effect. After a winter of heavy mountain snow, it is not too late to get flood insurance before the spring melt-off occurs, Federal officials advise.

The average flood insurance policy costs approximately $400 a year for about $250,000 of coverage. For those living in low-to-moderate risk areas, there is a Preferred Risk Policy available for little more than $100. Up to $1 million of flood insurance coverage is available for non-residential buildings and contents.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and effectively manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: