$4.3 Million Approved For Disaster Recovery Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
March 21, 2005
Release Number: 

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- A total of $4,299,257.21 in Individual and Households Program (IHIP) grants has been approved for disaster assistance in Ohio since the presidential declaration of February 15, according to figures released today by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA). The presidential declaration covers the period of Dec. 22, 2004 through Feb. 1, 2005.

The following is an update of recovery activities as of close of business Sunday, March 20:

  • 5,055 individuals from the 32 declared counties have applied for assistance
  • 2,537 claims have been approved for the Individuals and Household Program totaling $4,299,257.21 in grants. [See county breakdown on page 4.]
  • 702 people have visited one of the 12 Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) that were temporarily opened in various locations to help meet the needs of disaster victims.
  • 2,775 home loan and 346 business loan applications have been issued by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

U.S. Small Business Administration

The SBA has issued 2,775 low-interest loan applications to homeowners, renters and business owners throughout Ohio. Officials urge affected residents to complete and return their loan paperwork as soon as possible, even if they have not received a final settlement from their insurance company. If the loan application is not returned, eligibility for other forms of disaster assistance may be affected. SBA representatives will be available at the Disaster Outreach Centers listed below to assist with completion of disaster loan applications.

The following centers will be closing Thursday, March 24, 2005 at 1pm:

In Hockingport – Athens County
United Methodist Church Community Center, 28821 Pavilion Street

In Bellefontaine – Logan County
Ohio Highpoint Career Center, House #4, 2280 State Route 540

In Marietta – Washington County
Washington County Courthouse (Old Jail), 205 Putnam Street

In Bucyrus – Crawford County
Crawford County Courthouse Conference Room, 112 East Mansfield Street

In Zanesville – Muskingum County
Muskingum County EMA/EOC, 2215 Adamsville Road

In Yellowbud –Ross County
Yellowbud United Methodist Church Annex, 599 Yellowbud Road

For more information about SBA's disaster loan program, visit an SBA outreach centers or call the Disaster Area Office at 1-800-659-2955 or TTY 1-800-877-8339 for the speech or hearing-impaired. The filing deadline for physical damage applications is April 18, 2005.

Registration and Helpline Numbers Continue to Operate; Online Registration Available

Individuals, families, and business owners who suffered losses in the declared counties should apply for assistance by calling FEMA’S toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362.) The special number for those with hearing or speech impairment is TTY 1 800 462-7585. These numbers are available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, until further notice. Individuals may check on the status of their application, update their current information, or request general assistance information by calling those same numbers.

People can also register for assistance online at www.fema.gov

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA)

The Disaster Unemployment Assistance Program provides weekly benefits to those individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed agricultural and hourly workers, self-employed business people, business owners unable to provide services and other unemployed w...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top