Starke County Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
March 18, 2005
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Starke County has been added to the disaster declaration for public assistance (infrastructure) to include aid for local governments affected by the severe winter storms and flooding that began in January 1 in Indiana, federal officials announced today. This brings the total to 42 counties statewide that are eligible for infrastructure losses.

Ron Sherman, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) federal coordinating officer for the disaster, said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. Starke County previously had been designated for individual assistance for homeowners, renters and business owners.

“Our continuing commitment is not only to help meet the recovery needs of devastated families and businesses,” Sherman said, “ but to ensure that the vital community services they depend on are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible.”

Under the expanded assistance, affected local governments in Starke County are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities. Local government and county officials will be contacted by state and federal recovery specialists shortly to explain the procedures for requesting the assistance.

The other counties designated for public assistance (infrastructure) are Adams, Allen, Bartholomew, Blackford, Boone, Clinton, Daviess, Dearborn, Delaware, Fayette, Fountain, Franklin, Gibson, Grant, Greene, Henry, Howard, Huntington, Jay, Jefferson, Knox, Lawrence, Madison, Martin, Montgomery, Owen, Perry, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Rush, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Union, Vermillion, Vigo, Wayne, Warren and Wells.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and effectively manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top