Todd And Trigg Counties Eligible For FEMA Assistance For Areas Affected By Severe Storm And Snow In December

Main Content
Release date: 
March 12, 2005
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Todd and Trigg counties have been added to the area of Kentucky eligible for federal disaster assistance provided by the U. S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The total number of counties eligible for FEMA assistance now totals 30, federal disaster officials said.

Both Todd and Trigg counties have been designated to receive funding from all of FEMA’s Public Assistance programs including the program that provides reimbursements for costs of snow removal and emergency protective measures. The deadline for applicants to submit Requests for Public Assistance (RPAs) for these two counties will be April 9, 2005.

FEMA has obligated $386,394 of Public Assistance funds for approved projects and has received 73 RPAs from applicants thus far. Governments and nonprofit organizations in Marshall and Lyon counties have until April 5, 2005, to file RPAs. The RPA filing period for 26 other counties in the original disaster declaration ended March 10.

The disaster recovery operation is being managed by FEMA and Commonwealth of Kentucky’s Division of Emergency Management. Eligible governments and nonprofit agencies can get federal reimbursement for up to 75 percent of approved costs involving emergency work and restoration of damaged facilities resulting from that storm. Additional state disaster funds to help with eligible costs also are available.

The counties in the declared disaster area are Ballard, Bracken, Breckinridge, Caldwell, Carlisle, Crittenden, Franklin, Fulton, Grant, Grayson, Hancock, Harrison, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Larue, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McLean, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson, Shelby, Todd, Trigg, Union and Webster. All 120 counties in Kentucky are eligible for FEMA’s Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. The state operates the program in which FEMA funding is used to help pay costs of making structures safer, stronger and thus more disaster-resistant.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top