Main Content

Marshall County Added For FEMA Assistance In Kentucky

Release date: 
March 8, 2005
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Marshall County has been added to counties in Kentucky eligible for assistance provided to cities, counties and certain private non-profit agencies by the U. S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). That boosts the number to 28 Kentucky counties eligible for Public Assistance funds.

Eligibility for agencies in Lyon County was expanded so both Marshall and Lyon counties have 30 days to submit Requests for Public Assistance (RPA). Agencies in both counties may apply for funds needed to offset costs of snow removal from the severe storm that struck Kentucky in December. The deadline to submit RPAs in those two counties is April 5, 2005.

Thursday, March 10, 2005, is the filing deadline for RPAs in the original 27 counties included in the Presidential declaration for a major disaster in Kentucky. The deadline had earlier been announced as today, March 8, 2005, disaster officials said.

The disaster recovery operation is being managed by FEMA and the Commonwealth of Kentucky’s Division of Emergency Management.

Eligible governments and nonprofit agencies can get federal reimbursement for up to 75 percent of approved costs involving emergency work and restoration of damaged facilities resulting from that storm. Additional state disaster funds to help with eligible costs also are available.

The 28 designated counties now are: Ballard, Bracken, Breckinridge, Caldwell, Carlisle, Crittenden, Franklin, Fulton, Grant, Grayson, Hancock, Harrison, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Larue, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McLean, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson, Shelby, Union and Webster.

Now 16 counties are eligible for help with approved costs associated with emergency protective measures, including costs of equipment, contracts and personnel overtime for counties that dealt with snow removal over the 48-hour period of the storm. Related emergency protective measures such as sanding and salting also may be eligible for reimbursement.

The 16 counties include Ballard, Breckinridge, Caldwell, Carlisle, Crittenden, Fulton, Hancock, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McLean, Muhlenberg, Union and Webster.

All 120 counties in Kentucky are eligible for FEMA’s Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. The state operates the program in which FEMA funding is used to help pay costs of making structures safer, stronger and more disaster-resistant.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: