FEMA Aid for Infrastructure Available in Six More Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
February 22, 2005
Release Number: 

EMPORIA, Kan. -- Six additional counties have been added to the disaster declaration for public assistance to include aid for local governments affected by the severe winter storms that occurred between January 4 and January 6 in Kansas, federal officials announced today.

The six counties now eligible to apply for all categories of public assistance are: Brown, Jackson, Kiowa, Leavenworth, McPherson, and Pottawatomie.

“The additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials,” said Tom Costello, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) federal coordinating officer for the disaster.

Under the expanded declaration affected local governments in the six counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

“This assistance will go a long way toward restoring critical public facilities across our state,” said Angee Morgan, State Coordinating Officer.

The declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks. A total of 38 Kansas counties are now included in the current Presidential disaster declaration.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and effectively manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top