Main Content

Only One More Week Left To Call And Apply For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
January 12, 2005
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- Only a couple of days remain for individuals and business owners in the six New York counties designated for individual assistance to call and apply for state and federal aid to replace losses from the severe storms and floods that ravaged the region last September 16-24.

The deadline to call and apply for disaster assistance is January 15, 2005. The eligible counties are Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Orange, Sullivan, and Ulster.

Individuals and business owners in the eligible counties who sustained losses but still have not applied for assistance should do so by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free application number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). There is also a special number for those with hearing or speech impairment, TTY 1-800-462-7585. Both numbers are operational everyday from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Even if a homeowner, renter or business owner has insurance, they still may be eligible for disaster assistance for under-insured losses. However, in order to complete an application, FEMA will need the resident’s insurance settlement information to avoid any duplication of benefits.

“We don’t want anyone to miss out on the assistance they are entitled to,” said Theodore Monette, FEMA’s federal coordinating officer, “If you suffered damages as a result of the severe storms and flooding, please call and apply before the deadline.”

People who have already applied may call the FEMA Helpline at the same numbers, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585), even after the deadline, to check on the status of their application and get additional information.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top