Main Content

Disaster Assistance Deadline Approaches

Main Content
Release date: 
December 13, 2004
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- Pennsylvanians who suffered damage or loss because of flooding from Tropical storm Ivan between Sept. 17 and Oct. 1 have less than one week to apply for federal disaster assistance. Saturday, Dec. 18, is the last day to call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free teleregistration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for speech- or hearing-impaired callers. The lines are open from 6 a.m. to midnight, Monday through Saturday. Applicants can also register online at

“With less than one week to apply for assistance, I urge all Pennsylvanians who suffered damage as a result of Tropical Depression Ivan to register for help now,” said State Coordinating Officer David M. Sanko. “I want everyone to know that assistance is still available through the Federal Emergency Management Agency, but it is extremely important for all affected residents to apply before the Dec 18 deadline.”

Homeowners, renters and business owners may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs to meet disaster-related needs. Those who have applied and received a packet from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) need to complete and return the application.

The counties included in the disaster declaration are: Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Bradford, Bucks, Butler, Cameron, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Crawford, Cumberland, Delaware, Dauphin, Elk, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lawrence, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Philadelphia, Pike, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland, Wyoming and York.

“Even after the deadline, FEMA’s Helpline will be available to answer questions and to give application status information,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Nick Russo. “Call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) and select the Helpline option.”

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: