Federal Disaster Assistance Available to Private Non-Profit Organizations

Main Content
Release date: 
December 10, 2004
Release Number: 

ANCHORAGE, Ala. -- As a result of President Bush’s disaster declaration for Public Assistance following the severe winter storms that occurred October 18 through October 24, 2004, federal disaster help is now available to some private non-profit organizations (PNPs) through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) or the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

PNPs that provide essential governmental services and had damages or losses from the storm are eligible for disaster recovery assistance and are encouraged to apply. At the time of application, FEMA will classify the essential governmental service as either critical or non-critical.

The deadline to apply to FEMA for Public Assistance in the Northwest Arctic Borough and communities within the boundaries of the Bering Straits Regional Education Attendance Areas (REAA) is December 15, 2004. The deadline to apply to FEMA for Public Assistance in the Lower Kuskokwim, Lower Yukon, Kashunamiut (Chevak), and Pribilof Islands REAAs is January 30, 2005. The SBA disaster assistance deadline is January 14, 2005. PNP applicants may contact SBA toll-free at 1-800-488-5323.

Eligible PNP facilities that provide critical services may apply for a grant through FEMA’s cost-sharing Public Assistance program by completing both a Request for Public Assistance and a PNP questionnaire. Some examples of PNP facilities in this category are those that provide bulk fuel storage, power, water, sewer, wastewater treatment, community washeteria, communications, health care, and fire/rescue services.

Eligible PNP facilities that provide non-critical services must first apply to the SBA for a low-interest disaster loan to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries. PNPs should also apply to FEMA, complete a Request for Public Assistance and PNP questionnaire. If SBA cannot approve a loan or meet all the PNP needs, the applicant will be referred back to FEMA.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top