Main Content

Disaster Recovery Center To Close In Orange County, Help Is Still Available

Main Content
Release date: 
December 8, 2004
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- The Disaster Recovery Center at the Town Hall in Huguenot, Orange County, will close at 6 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 10, according to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the New York State Emergency Management Office (SEMO).

More than 140 people have visited the center, which opened on Nov. 19 and serves as a one-stop information source. At a Disaster Recovery Center, visitors can sit down face-to-face with state and federal disaster-recovery specialists to ask questions about disaster assistance.

Disaster aid may include grants for home repairs, temporary housing or any serious disaster-related expenses, as well as long-term, low-interest loans through the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover personal, residential and business losses not covered by insurance or otherwise compensated.

Homeowners, renters and business owners who sustained damages or losses from the severe storms and flooding that occurred between Aug. 13 and Sept. 16 can continue to apply for assistance by calling FEMA’s toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Lines remain open from 6 a.m. to midnight, Monday through Friday. Those with speech or hearing impairments may apply by calling 1-800-462-7585. Applicants also can register anytime online by going to

“Help is still just a phone call or a click away,” said James W. Tuffey, Director of the New York State Emergency Management Office and State Coordinating Officer. “Whether online or by phone, registration is the first step to receiving help from state and federal programs,” Tuffey said.

After registering, people can check on the status of their application, update personal information, or get more information on disaster assistance by calling FEMA’s toll-free Helpline at 1-800-621-3362 and choosing option two.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: