Main Content

FEMA's Helpline Continues Available For Disaster Aid Applicants

Release date: 
November 29, 2004
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, P.R. – The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) officials announced that the Helpline continues available to those residents who registered for disaster assistance due to the aftermath of Tropical Storm Jeanne. On September 14-19, 2004 this storm caused extensive rains resulting in flooding, landslides and mudslides.

Even after the disaster aid registration period has concluded, through the Helpline, applicants can report changes to their telephone numbers, address or place where they can be reached, and obtain information about disaster assistance programs or follow-up on the status of their registration.

Federal disaster aid applicants living in one of the 58 disaster-declared municipalities can call FEMA’s Helpline at 1-800-621-3362. Hearing or speech impaired individuals can call TTY: 1-800-462-7585. The Helpline is available daily, from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m.

The presidential disaster declaration included the municipalities of Aguada, Aguadilla, Aguas Buenas, Aibonito, Añasco, Arecibo, Arroyo, Barceloneta, Barranquitas, Bayamón, Caguas, Camuy, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cataño, Cayey, Ceiba, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerío, Corozal, Dorado, Fajardo, Florida, Guayama, Gurabo, Hatillo, Humacao, Isabela, Juana Díaz, Juncos, Lares, Las Piedras, Loíza, Manatí, Morovis, Maunabo, Moca, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Quebradillas, Rincón, Río Grande, Salinas, San Lorenzo, San Sebastián, Santa Isabel, Toa Alta, Toa Baja, Utuado, Vega Alta, Vega Baja, Vieques, Villalba, and Yabucoa.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: