FEMA Approves Governor Rendell?s Request To Extend Disaster Registration Period

Main Content
Release date: 
November 18, 2004
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- Pennsylvania homeowners, renters and business owners who suffered uninsured or under-insured damage or loss because of flooding between Sept. 17 and Oct. 1 have an additional 30 days to apply for federal disaster assistance. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today approved Governor Edward G. Rendell’s request to extend the deadline for disaster aid, including low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

Saturday, Dec. 18, now will be the last day to call FEMA’s toll-free teleregistration number - 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) - or the TTY number - 1-800-462-7585 - for speech- or hearing-impaired applicants. The lines are operational from 6 a.m. to midnight Monday through Saturday. Online registration is available at www.fema.gov.

“Our goal is to help families and businesses. We want to ensure that everyone who qualifies has more time to receive assistance,” said David M. Sanko, state coordinating officer.

Assistance can include grants for homeowners and renters and low-interest disaster loans from SBA for homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes. Individuals who have already registered and have received an SBA loan application need to complete and return it even if they do not think they will qualify for a loan.

“FEMA’s toll-free telephone numbers also serve as the Helpline for people who have already registered and have questions,” said Nick Russo, federal coordinating officer. “Be sure to complete and return your SBA loan application - it’s part of the process.”

The 56 counties included in the disaster declaration extension are Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Bradford, Bucks, Butler, Cameron, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Crawford, Cumberland, Delaware, Dauphin, Elk, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lawrence, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Philadelphia, Pike, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland, Wyoming and York.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top