Disaster Assistance Available For New York Residents And Businesses

Main Content
Release date: 
November 17, 2004
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today amended its disaster declaration of October 1, 2004 to include the counties of Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Madison, Monroe, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Orange, Orleans, Steuben, Sullivan, Ulster and Wayne eligible for individual disaster assistance.

Homeowners, renters and business owners in the disaster-designated counties who incurred damages and losses due to the severe storms and flooding of August 13 – September 16 may be eligible for a wide range of assistance programs. Disaster assistance may include grants for home repairs, temporary housing, or any serious needs or necessary disaster-related expenses; and long-term, low-interest loans through the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover personal, residential and business losses not covered by insurance or otherwise compensated.

Residents in Broome, Orange, Sullivan and Ulster counties who previously registered for Tropical Depression Ivan (September 16-24) and also received damages as a result of the severe storms that occurred August 19 - September 16 must register again in order to be eligible for disaster assistance.

James W. Tuffey, Director of the New York State Emergency Management Office (SEMO), and Ted Monette, federal coordinating officer, encourage those affected by the disaster to begin the disaster assistance process by calling toll-free: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those who are speech or hearing impaired may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Both lines remain open 6 a.m. to midnight, Monday through Friday. Disaster victims can also register online by going to www.fema.gov.

When calling to register, please have the following information available:

  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered including the date it happened;
  • If insured, your insurance policy number or the agent and company name;
  • General financial information.
  • A current phone number;
  • Your Social Security number;
  • The street address of the damaged property and the address where you are now staying if they are not the same;
  • Clear directions to the property that was damaged;

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top