FEMA And Ohio To Open Disaster Recovery Center In Trimble

Main Content
Release date: 
November 8, 2004
Release Number: 

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- To help meet the ongoing needs of Ohio’s severe storms and flooding victims, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA) are opening a Disaster Recovery Center in the village of Trimble in Athens County. The center will provide an opportunity for people to talk face-to-face with recovery specialists.

The first step in receiving state and federal assistance made available under the September 19 Presidential disaster declaration is to apply by calling the toll-free FEMA number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). There is also a special number, TTY 1-800-462-7585, for those with speech or hearing impairment. Both lines are open 6 am to midnight, seven days a week until further notice and multilingual operators are available to take calls.

The temporary FEMA and Ohio EMA Disaster Recovery Center will be located at:

Rural Action Building
19627 Walnut Street
Trimble, Ohio 45732
Open: Friday, November 12 through Thursday November 18 ONLY
Hours of Operation: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, Closed Sunday

Some of the things people can accomplish at the centers include:

  • Inquiring about the status of the application they have already made by phone;
  • Referrals for temporary rental assistance resources;
  • Assistance completing U.S. Small Business Administration low-interest loan applications for homeowners, renters or business owners;
  • Receive information on cost-effective measures to reduce the impact of future flooding or disaster losses;
  • Receive state and federal disaster tax assistance;
  • Referrals to local agencies that provide crisis counseling

Information provided at these centers is not only useful to those who suffered damages from these storms, but anyone in the area can visit a center and find out what they can do to reduce future damages from severe storms and flooding.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top