Main Content

Clay And Stephens Counties Now Eligible For Ivan Aid

Release date: 
November 5, 2004
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that disaster assistance has been made available for Clay and Stephens Counties to help local governments recover from the effects of Hurricane Ivan.

Michael D. Brown, Under Secretary of Homeland Security for Emergency Preparedness and Response, said the counties were added to the list of eligible jurisdictions based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

The addition of Clay and Stevens counties brings to 30 the number of Georgia counties that are eligible for disaster assistance to help local governments rebuild public property damaged by Hurricane Ivan: Counties previously approved for Hurricane Ivan aid to local governments are Banks, Carroll, Cherokee, Cobb, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Early, Elbert, Fannin, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Habersham, Harris, Heard, Lumpkin, Madison, Miller, Pickens, Pike, Rabun, Towns, Union, Upson, White, and Wilkes.

"Ensuring that vital community services are restored as quickly as possible is part of our continuing commitment to help Georgia achieve a full recovery," said FEMA's Federal Coordinating Officer, Jesse Munoz.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: