Trenton Disaster Recovery Center To Close

Main Content
Release date: 
October 26, 2004
Release Number: 

MOUNT LAUREL, N.J. -- The Disaster Recovery Center at the Imani Community Center at Prospect and Spring streets in Trenton will close permanently at 7:00 p.m. on Friday, October 29th, state and federal recovery officials announced today. The two Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) in Warren County will remain open with the following schedule:

  • Harmony Volunteer Fire Company
    440 Brainards Road
    Monday through Saturday, 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

  • Blairstown Municipal Building
    12 Mohican Road
    October 29th and 30th, November 1st through 3rd, 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Disaster recovery officials have termed the Centers a "one-stop shop" in delivering services to disaster victims. Representatives from a number of local, state and federal agencies staff the Centers and are available to provide information and to answer questions. Homeowners, renters and business owners who have registered with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and have received loan applications from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) can visit any one of the DRCs to meet with an official from the SBA to complete and turn in the applications. Failure to complete those applications can result in the termination of further federal and state assistance.

On October 1, 2004, President Bush declared a major disaster for New Jersey, opening the way for the use of federal disaster funds to help people and communities recover from the effects of Tropical Depression Ivan.

Residents and business owners in Hunterdon, Mercer, Sussex and Warren counties with damages from the storm are still eligible to apply for federal and state aid and are encouraged to do so by calling FEMA at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 10800-462-7585 or by registering online at The toll-free telephone numbers and the website are available 24-hours a day, seven days a week until further notice. If possible, try calling in the evening after 6:00 p.m. or on weekends when call volume often is lighter.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became a part of the U. S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U. S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top