Hunterdon County Added To Counties Declared Eligible For Federal Disaster Assistance To State And Local Municipalities, Applicant Briefing Scheduled

Main Content
Release date: 
October 25, 2004
Release Number: 

MOUNT LAUREL, N.J. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has amended its disaster declaration for the State of New Jersey by adding Hunterdon County to the three other counties already eligible for Public Assistance to state and local governments. Hunterdon County now joins Mercer, Warren and Sussex counties previously declared eligible under the major disaster declaration on October 1, 2004. Eligibility was granted to Hunterdon County based upon a review of damage data gathered by federal, state and local officials.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program provides 75 percent reimbursement for debris removal, the costs of emergency protective measures, and repairs to roads and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings and contents, public utilities, parks and recreational facilities. Private non-profit organizations also may qualify for assistance to restore certain types of facilities, including educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other facilities providing essential government types of services.

"We are inviting Hunterdon County officials to attend an Applicant Briefing on Monday, November 1st at the Hunterdon County Complex on Route 12 in Flemington at 10:00 a. m., where we’ll explain the process of applying for reimbursement for damages in the wake of Tropical Depression Ivan," said Captain Karl E. Kleeberg, state coordinating officer, New Jersey Office of Emergency Management.

On October 1, 2004, President Bush declared a major disaster for New Jersey, opening the way for the use of federal disaster funds to help people and communities recover from the effects of Tropical Depression Ivan. Residents and business owners in Hunterdon, Mercer, Sussex and Warren counties with damages from the storm are still eligible to apply for federal and state aid and are encouraged to do so by calling FEMA at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 10800-462-7585 or by registering online at

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top