Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC's) To Open In Pickens And Williamsburg Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
October 21, 2004
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, S.C. -- Working together, the South Carolina Emergency Management Division (SCEMD) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will open Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC’s) in Pickens County and Williamsburg County. These centers are to support the October 7 Presidential disaster declaration authorizing financial aid to residents who suffered damage from the multiple storms that began with Hurricane Frances on September 6 and continued through October 11. Disaster recovery specialists from various local, state and federal agencies will be at the centers to assist individuals and answer questions regarding receiving disaster assistance.

Begin the assistance process by first calling one of the toll-free registration numbers: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585(TTY) for hearing and speech impaired. These numbers are available 24 hours a day, seven days per week until further notice. Registration and additional information is also available at .

The Pickens DRC will be open for three days:

Monday, October 25 -- Wednesday, October 27
from 10:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.

Address information - Kershaw County DRC:

Pickens County Disaster Recovery Center
Clemson National Guard Armory
141 Pendleton Avenue
Clemson, SC 29631

The Williamsburg DRC will be open five days:

Monday, October 25 – Friday, October 29
from 10:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.

Address information - Williamsburg County DRC

Williamsburg County Disaster Recovery Center
Kingstree National Guard Armory
747 Eastland Avenue
Kingstree, SC 29556

“As people are putting their lives back together, the most important step is to call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362),” said Michael Bolch, federal coordinating officer for FEMA’s disaster recovery efforts. “If you are calling and get a busy signal, try your call again later. Don’t get discouraged; continue to call until you get through. Non-peak calling times are evenings after 6 p.m. and on weekends.”

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top