PEMA, FEMA To Open Roving Disaster Recovery Center In Crawford County

Main Content
Release date: 
October 14, 2004
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- State and federal officials announce the opening of a roving Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Crawford County to assist individuals and business owners who suffered losses and damages from September tropical storms. The Disaster Recovery Center will be at the following location:

Conneautville Fire Hall
1015 Strawberry Alley

Center will open on FRIDAY, OCT. 15,
and will close on Tuesday, Oct. 19.
Hours are 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Friday, Monday and Tuesday
and 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday.
Closed Sunday, Oct. 17.

Anyone who incurred damage because of September tropical storms may visit any Disaster Recovery Center regardless of where they live.

"This center will provide personal assistance and information to disaster victims with direct access to local, state and federal specialists," said State Coordinating Officer David M. Sanko.

Individuals may talk with representatives about disaster housing assistance, flood insurance and homeowner’s insurance, health and welfare assistance, well water testing, crisis counseling, and senior citizen services. Representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will also be available to help applicants complete low-interest disaster loan packets.

"Visiting a DRC is not mandatory but it is an opportunity for people to have face-to-face contact with agency representatives," said Federal Coordinating Officer Tom Davies.

Before visiting a Disaster Recovery Center, flood victims, who sustained damage in the counties listed below, should first register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). People with hearing or speech impairments may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

The designated counties are:

Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Bradford, Bucks, Butler, Cameron, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Crawford, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lawrence, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Philadelphia, Pike, Schuylkill, Somerset, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland, Wyoming and York.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top