PEMA, FEMA Extend Operation Of Disaster Recovery Center In Lycoming County

Main Content
Release date: 
October 12, 2004
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- State and federal officials are extending the operation of the Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Lycoming County to further assist individuals and business owners who suffered losses and damages from tropical depressions Frances and Ivan. The Disaster Recovery Center is at the following location:

Faxon Lumber Company
1700 E. Third St.

Center will be open through SATURDAY Oct. 23.
Hours of operation are 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. weekdays,
10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturdays.
The center will be closed on Sunday, Oct. 17.

Anyone who sustained damage because of tropical depressions Frances or Ivan may visit any
Disaster Recovery Center regardless of where they live.

This center will continue to provide personal assistance and information to disaster victims with direct access to local, state and federal specialists for an additional eight days.

Individuals may talk with representatives about disaster housing assistance, flood insurance and homeowner’s insurance, health and welfare assistance, well water testing, crisis counseling, and senior citizen services. Representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will also be available to help applicants complete low-interest disaster loan packets.

While Visiting a DRC is not mandatory, it is an opportunity for people to have face-to-face contact with agency representatives.

Before visiting a Disaster Recovery Center, flood victims, who sustained damage in the counties listed below, should first register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). People with hearing or speech impairments may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

The designated counties are:

Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Bradford, Bucks, Butler, Cameron, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Crawford, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lawrence, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Philadelphia, Pike, Schuylkill, Somerset, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland, Wyoming and York.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top