FEMA Makes Website Enhancements for Disaster Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
October 9, 2004
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announces several changes to the agency’s website at in an effort to provide up-to-date, importance information for those recovering from all of the recent hurricanes and storm.

FEMA has introduced a special Hurricane 2004 section for disaster victims, with disaster recovery information updated regularly. FEMA’s publication, Help After a Disaster: Applicant’s Guide to the Individual & Households Program provides information about disaster recovery programs is now on-line. New Frequently Asked Questions and Answers that are based on questions from FEMA’s Helpline, Disaster Recovery Centers and website are now available. Information for each disaster-declared state is also available, with important links to state and voluntary agencies.

Since Hurricane Charley first struck Florida in early August, the agency has received nearly 1 million applications for disaster assistance. FEMA continues to experience an unprecedented call volume to its toll-free number and is working to streamline the application process and provide alternative methods of accessing important recovery information.

Individuals can begin the disaster application process by calling the toll-free registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers are available 24-hours a day, seven days a week until further notice. Individuals can also find valuable recovery information on the agency’s website at .

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top