Hurricane Ivan, Tropical Storm Francis Deadlines For Public Assistance Applications Loom

Main Content
Release date: 
October 8, 2004
Release Number: 

The deadline to apply for Public Assistance is 30 days from the date of declaration. This date is rapidly approaching for Georgia state agencies, local governments and certain private non-profit organizations affected by Hurricane Ivan and Tropical Storm Francis.


The President made a Public Assistance disaster declaration for Hurricane Ivan on September 18. It covered the counties of Carroll, Cherokee, Cobb, Dawson, Dekalb, Early, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Madison, Rabun, Towns, Union and White. The deadline for applicants in these counties to apply for assistance is October 18.

The declaration was amended on September 24 to include the counties of Banks, Dade, Elbert, Fannin, Forsyth, Habersham, Harris, Lumpkin, Miller and Pickins. The deadline for applicants in these counties to apply for assistance is October 24.

Heard and Wilkes counties were added on September 29. The deadline to apply for assistance in these counties is October 29.


A Public Assistance declaration for Tropical Storm Francis was made September 24. The following counties received the declaration:

Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Bleckley, Brantley, Brooks, Butts, Calhoun, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Crawford, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Echols, Elbert, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Grady, Greene, Hancock, Harris, Hart, Houston, Irwin, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, Lanier, Laurens, Long, Lowndes, Macon, McIntosh, Monroe, Montgomery, Peach, Pike, Pulaski, Putnam, Rabun, Schley, Spalding, Sumter, Talbot, Taliaferro, Tattnall, Taylor, Telfair, Thomas, Tift, Toombs, Treutlen, Turner, Twiggs, Upson, Ware, Wayne, Washington, Webster, Wheeler, Wilcox, Wilkes, Wilkinson, and Worth.

The application deadline for applicants in these counties is October 24.

The Public Assistance declaration covers seven categories including Debris Removal, Emergency Protective Measures, Road and Bridge Systems, Water Control Facilities, Public Buildings and Equipment and “Other” such as parks and recreation. State, county and municipal governments and certain private non-profit organizations that furnish essential governmental service are eligible applicants.

Local governments with questions regarding the Public Assistance grant application process should contact the FEMA Disaster Field Office in Atlanta at 678-284-5659.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top