Disaster Aid Tops $1 Million For Late July Storm Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
September 9, 2004
Release Number: 

CHARLESTON, W.Va. –-- More than $1 million in assistance has been provided since a presidential declaration was approved for Fayette, Lincoln, Logan and Mingo Counties on Aug. 7. The declaration was a result of severe storms that struck the counties in late July.

Disaster assistance is provided in several forms: Housing Assistance, Other Needs Assistance and U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans.

Housing Assistance may include lodging expenses, repair assistance and temporary rental assistance. Other Needs Assistance may include medical, dental, and funeral expenses; furniture, clothing and certain appliances; vehicle costs; and other eligible expenses. Applications for assistance have reached 519.

The breakdown of Housing and Other Needs Assistance by county:
CountyApplicationsHousing AssistanceOther Needs AssistanceSBA
Logan108$182,431$17,304$ 8,000
Totals as of 09/08/04519$883,853$49,346$58,400

The SBA has approved loans totaling $58,400 for West Virginia homeowners and businesses that suffered flood damage.

The application deadline for applying for assistance is Oct. 5.

The Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Fayette County, located in Ansted, served 163 visitors. The second DRC in Lincoln County in Harts had 44 visitors. Both locations are now closed.

The housing program that includes mobile homes and travel trailers, has been initiated. The program provides temporary housing for disaster victims while their homes are repaired or until other permanent housing becomes available.

Crisis counseling is available for West Virginians in the declared counties who are suffering from disaster-related pressure, worry or strain. Individuals may request counseling by calling 1-800-232-0020.

The deadline for registering for disaster unemployment assistance for those who live in Mingo County is Sept. 22. Anyone whose jobs were lost or interrupted because of the severe storms that began in late July may be eligible for assistance.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
May 9, 2013 - 14:22
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top