Main Content

Mingo County Now Eligible For Disaster Aid

Release date: 
August 19, 2004
Release Number: 

CHARLESTON, W. Va. -- Mingo County has been added to counties already declared eligible for federal and state disaster individual assistance as result of the late July storms, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) federal coordinating officer. Previously declared counties are Fayette, Logan and Lincoln.

Residents of these counties are eligible for a wide range of programs such as funding for housing assistance, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damage property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

The action followed a request for extension of disaster aid by Gov. Bob Wise.

Residents who had losses resulting from the late July storms now can register for assistance by calling FEMA’s toll-free Helpline number, 800-621-FEMA (3362). For those with hearing- or -speech impairments, the number is (TTY) 800-462-7585.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: