More Than $40.8 Million Approved For Michigan Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
August 10, 2004
Release Number: 

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- More than $36.4 million in grants and more than $4.4 million in U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans have been approved to help Michigan homeowners, renters and businesses recover from the severe storms, tornadoes and floods beginning May 20 through June 8. More than 84,100 people have applied for disaster assistance.

Individuals and businesses in the 23 disaster-declared counties, who incurred damages or losses from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding, may apply for disaster assistance by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY: 1-800-462-7585. Phone lines are open Monday through Saturday, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. The deadline to call and apply for disaster assistance is August 30.

The FEMA Helpline (the same 1-800 number listed above) has received 156,184 inquiries regarding application status or information about disaster recovery programs and services. A total of 3,330 people have visited Disaster Recovery Centers with similar inquiries.

The DRC at the Detroit City Airport, 11499 Conner St. will continue to serve those who need disaster information Mondays through Fridays from 9:30 am. to 7 p.m. and Saturdays from 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Mitigation experts are available to assist visitors with information on how to reduce the risk of damage from future disasters. This center will close at 7 p.m. on August 20.

Additionally, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) workshop, located in the Dearborn Heights Fire Department Headquarters at 1999 N. Beech Daly Road, is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. SBA representatives can provide assistance with low-interest loan applications for homeowners, renters, and business owners affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that took place from May 20 to June 8.

The deadline to apply for Disaster Unemployment Insurance (DUA) from the Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency is tomorrow (Aug. 11). The following counties are included under the August 11 deadline: Barry, Berrien, Cass, Genesee, Gladwin, Ingham, Ionia, Jackson, Kent, Livingston, Macomb, Mecosta, Oakland, Ottawa, Sanilac, Shiawassee, St. Clair, St. Joseph, and Wayne Counties.

Applications for DUA in Eaton, Muskegon, Saginaw, and Washtenaw Counties must be received no later than August 25.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top