Main Content

Incident Period For Michigan Storms Extended

Main Content
Release date: 
August 10, 2004
Release Number: 

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- Federal and state officials announce the amendment of the incident period for Michigan’s severe storms, tornadoes and flooding to cover the period of May 20 – June 8, 2004.

This includes the federally-declared counties of: Barry, Berrien, Cass, Eaton, Genesee, Gladwin, Ingham, Ionia, Jackson, Kent, Livingston, Macomb, Mecosta, Muskegon, Oakland, Ottawa, Saginaw, Sanilac, Shiawassee, St. Clair, St. Joseph, Washtenaw and Wayne.

The incident period was amended to include the disaster-related damages that occurred from May 25 through June 8. If you have not applied for disaster assistance and incurred damages between May 20 and June 8, you can now apply by calling 1-800-621 FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for those who may be speech or hearing impaired. Both numbers are available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday. The deadline to call and apply for assistance is August 30.

If you have applied with Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) already, you don’t have to apply again. Your claim for damages that occurred in the amended incident period (May 20 – June 8) will automatically be processed.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: