Main Content

Disaster Application Deadline Approaches

Main Content
Release date: 
August 3, 2004
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Individuals and business owners in the 37 disaster-declared counties who sustained damage in the severe storms that occurred between May18-31 have only one month to apply for disaster assistance. Tuesday, Aug. 10, is the last day registrations will be accepted for individual assistance. Loan applications to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property must also be submitted by that date.

“We want people to understand that this is merely a registration deadline,” said Jerry Uhlmann, director of the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA). “For individuals who have already applied, their cases will continue to be processed. New registrations will not be accepted after the August 10 deadline.”

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge those who have not done so to apply as soon as possible by calling the toll-free application number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The special number for those with hearing or speech impairment is TTY 1-800-462-7585.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top