Less Than One Month Left To Apply For Michigan Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
August 2, 2004
Release Number: 

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- The deadline to apply for disaster aid is quickly approaching and Michigan residents in 23 counties have less than one month left to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for possible state and federal disaster assistance. August 30 is the deadline to register for assistance.

Recovery officials urge residents and business owners with disaster-related damage that occurred from the severe storms, tornadoes and floods of May 20-24 to call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The number for those with speech or hearing impairment is (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday until further notice.

Registration deadline for disaster assistance applies to the 23 counties declared federal disaster areas: Barry, Berrien, Cass, Eaton, Genesee, Gladwin, Ingham, Ionia, Jackson, Kent, Livingston, Macomb, Mecosta, Muskegon, Oakland, Ottawa, Saginaw, Sanilac, Shiawassee, St. Clair, St. Joseph, Washtenaw and Wayne.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) wants to remind those who received loan applications in the mail to complete and return them as soon as possible whether or not they are interested in a loan (deadline is Aug. 30). Failure to complete the SBA application may eliminate disaster victims from receiving other forms of disaster assistance.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top