Disaster Recovery Center To Close In Dearborn Heights

Main Content
Release date: 
July 30, 2004
Release Number: 

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- Federal and state officials announced today that the Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) operating in Dearborn Heights has served the needs of disaster victims and will close at 6 p.m. on Friday, August 6, 2004. The DRC is located in the Fire Department Headquarters at 1999 N. Beech Daly and will continue to serve those who need assistance on Saturday, July 31, and Monday (Aug. 2) through Friday (Aug. 6) from 9:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) staff will continue to be available at the same Dearborn Heights address to serve those who need SBA information and help filling out their SBA loan applications. These SBA training sessions will take place Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. beginning on Monday, August 9.

One Wayne County DRC continues to be open (until further notice) at the Detroit City Airport, 11499 Conner St. (hours: Mon. - Fri. from 9:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturdays from 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.).

Those affected by the disaster who want to check on the status of their application can call the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) helpline - 1-800-621-FEMA or TTY 1-800-462-7585 - for assistance. Victims who have questions about their U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loan who cannot visit a DRC can call the SBA helpline at 1-800-359-2227.

Deputy Federal Coordinating Officer Larry Bailey of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) noted that "Help with questions on federal and state disaster assistance is just a phone call away. Operators at the FEMA toll-free number are available from 8.a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday to help with many of the questions that were brought to us at the recovery center."

August 30 is the deadline to apply for assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free application number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for those who are speech or hearing impaired. The registration deadline for disaster assistance applies to the 23 counties declared federal disaster areas: Barry, Berrien, Cass, Eaton, Genesee, Gladwin, Ingham, Ionia, Jackson, Kent, Livingston, Macomb, Mecosta, Muskegon, Oakland, Ottawa, Saginaw, Sanilac, Shiawassee, St. Clair, St. Joseph, Washtenaw and Wayne.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top