Main Content

Two More Arkansas Counties Eligible For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 29, 2004
Release Number: 

HOT SPRINGS, Ariz. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that Benton and Franklin counties had been added to the list of Arkansas counties eligible for federal funding to help pay for damage to infrastructure from severe storms and flooding that began on May 30, and ended July 9.

Under the federal disaster declaration, state and affected local governments receive 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and the restoration of damaged public facilities. Certain private, nonprofit organizations may be eligible for assistance as well. Eligible local governments and certain nonprofit organizations in these two newly added counties have 30 days to apply for assistance.

Bradley, Calhoun, Clark, Columbia, Hempstead, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike and Sevier counties were included in the original June 30 disaster declaration, which does not include assistance to individuals or businesses.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: