Main Content

Deadline Near For Disaster Unemployment

Main Content
Release date: 
July 29, 2004
Release Number: 

DES MOINES, Iowa -- For 13 Iowa counties Aug. 5 is the last day to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. The counties are Appanoose, Davis, Des Moines, Hamilton, Henry, Louisa, Lucas, Monroe, Muscatine, Scott, Wapello, Washington and Wayne.

The Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HLSEM) explained that the assistance is for people who lost work due to severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred in Iowa between May 19 and June 24.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance extends coverage to some who are not eligible under the regular state unemployment insurance program. Those who may qualify include self-employed persons, farm workers and individuals who are unable to work due to injury caused by the disaster. Those whose workplace was or is closed because of the disaster may also be eligible. Officials urge those who are unsure whether they qualify to apply anyway.

Those interested in applying for Disaster Unemployment Assistance should contact their local Iowa Workforce Development Center. Most offices are open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Applicants need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements, and their most recent income tax forms.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance is administered by the State of Iowa and funded by FEMA.

The Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division was known as the Iowa Emergency Management Division until July 2003. The current name reflects the dual nature of the Division to provide programs and resources for both homeland security and emergency management efforts.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: