Main Content

Combined Disaster Aid For Iowa Reaches $13 Million

Release date: 
July 27, 2004
Release Number: 

DES MOINES, Iowa -- Following the July 26 deadline to apply for federal disaster aid in connection with President Bush’s May 25 disaster declaration, officials report 4,813 individuals registered through FEMA’s toll-free number. Aid approved for individuals, families and businesses in Iowa has reached more than $11 million, while nearly $2 million has been obligated for improvements to infrastructure. The aid is provided to help Iowans recover from losses caused by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding between May 19 and June 24, according to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HLSEM).

The following is an update of assistance provided through Individual Assistance programs, which are available in 75 counties:

  • 4,813 individuals registered for assistance through FEMA’s toll-free number.
  • More than $4.8 million in Housing Assistance grants has been approved for Iowans. This includes rental assistance grants and home repair/replacement grants.
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has issued 3,877 loan applications to homeowners, renters, and business owners and approved more than $5.8 million in low-interest disaster loans.
  • More than $1 million in Other Needs Assistance grants has been approved. This includes grants for medical, dental, funeral, personal property, transportation, and other eligible expenses.

In 49 counties, aid mainly for emergency services, debris removal and repairing and rebuilding infrastructure such as roads and bridges has been available through Public Assistance programs. Applicants for Public Assistance are governmental entities and, in some cases, eligible non-profit organizations. Funds are provided on a cost-shared basis with FEMA contributing 75 percent of the costs and the state and local entities contributing 25 percent.

FEMA has received 347 requests for Public Assistance and obligated a federal share of almost $2 million. Most of the funds are for bringing facilities up to their pre-disaster condition. However, on 44 projects almost $150,000 has been approved for cost-effective measures that are likely to reduce or eliminate the threat of future damage to the facilities. The total estimated federal contribution for Public Assistance for the Iowa disaster is expected to be approximately $17 million.

The Presidential disaster declaration, which began with 14 counties, came to include 77. Counties where both Individual Assistance and Public Assistance were available are Adair, Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Calhoun, Cass, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Dallas, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Grundy, Guthrie, Hancock, Howard, Humboldt, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Linn, Lucas, Marshall, Mitchell, Page, Pocahontas, Polk, Sac, Shelby, Story, Tama, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth and Wright.

Counties where only Individual Assistance was available are Adams, Buena Vista, Carroll, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Des Moines, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Louisa, Madison, Mills, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, Palo Alto, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Scott, Wapello, Warren, Washington and Wayne.

Counties where only Public Assistance was available are Ida and Taylor.

While the application period for disaster aid has closed, applicants for both Individual Assistance and Public Assistance will continue to be served until they receive the aid for which they qualify.

The Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division was known as the Iowa Emergency Management Division until July 2003. The current name reflects the dual nature of the Division to provide programs and reso...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: