Assistance Available For Disaster Victims With Unmet Needs

Main Content
Release date: 
July 27, 2004
Release Number: 

MADISON, Wis. -- Federal and state officials are establishing a toll-free number for those affected by the severe storms, floods and tornadoes that occurred between May 19 and July 3 who still have essential needs not met by insurance or some form of federal, state or voluntary agency assistance.

Officials are encouraging those affected by the recent disaster to first call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, through August 18, 2004 to register for disaster assistance. The special number for those with speech and hearing impairments is TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Beginning on August 1, until further notice, registered disaster victims in any of the 44 Wisconsin counties declared eligible for federal assistance may call 1-866-211-3380 to find out about additional recovery resources that may be available. Residents of Milwaukee County only may also call 211.

Long-term recovery committees are being established in strategic locations throughout areas in the state affected by the disaster. Resources that may be made available for eligible applicants include supplemental financial assistance, volunteer work teams and donated materials.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top