More Than $34 Million Approved In Disaster Assistance For Kentucky

Main Content
Release date: 
July 22, 2004
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Six weeks since a presidential disaster declaration was signed for Kentucky on June 10, more than $34 million in grants and low-interest disaster loans has been approved to assist residents who suffered damages from severe storms and floods, according to disaster recovery officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Kentucky Emergency Management (KyEM).

Federal, state, local and voluntary agencies are working in partnership to help Kentuckians throughout the disaster recovery process. The following is an update of their activities:

  • 9,072 individuals from the 78 disaster-declared counties have called to apply for aid (see county specific application numbers and grant figures on page 2).
  • $12,088,090 has been approved for repairing disaster-damaged, uninsured or underinsured homes to a safe, sanitary and functional condition and for temporary disaster rental assistance.
  • $6,527,733 has been approved for Other Needs Assistance, which may include grants for medical, funeral, personal property, transportation and other eligible expenses.
  • 331 applications for U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest home and business disaster loans have been approved, totaling $15,051,600.
  • 2,048 people visited the Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) while they were operating in affected areas. All DRCs are now closed.
  • 7,872 housing inspections to verify applicant losses have been completed, with most inspections being completed within two days of initial registration. 98% of requested inspections are completed.
  • 103 Public Assistance projects totaling more than $1 million have been approved to reimburse state, local and public sector agencies for disaster-related costs.
  • Seven long-term recovery committees, made up of local and state voluntary agencies, have been formed in the affected areas of the state to identify and provide assistance for long-term needs.

Residents and business owners in the disaster declared counties who sustained damage or loss may apply or check their application by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or, for the hearing and speech impaired, (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Phone lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (EDT/CDT), Monday through Saturday, until further notice.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top