Main Content

Disaster Recovery Center Opening Thursday In Lansing

Main Content
Release date: 
July 20, 2004
Release Number: 

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- Disaster recovery officials have announced the Thursday opening of a Disaster Recovery Center in Ingham County. The center will be located in the Lansing Fire Station #4 (New Station) at 1435 E. Miller Road. It will be open on Thursday, July 22 from 12 noon to 6 p.m. Operating hours will be 9:30 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Sunday, July 25 and Monday through Saturday thereafter.

Recovery officials remind renters, homeowners and business owners who suffered damage or loss in the severe weather that occurred between May 20 and 24 to apply for assistance by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-4562-7585 for those with hearing or speech impairment. After making that call, people can visit any Disaster Recovery Center to check on the status of their applications, get help in completing their SBA loan packets and receive information about how to reduce future disaster damage.

Disaster Recovery Centers are also located in Dearborn Heights, at the Detroit City Airport, in Plainfield Township (Grand Rapids), in Burton and in Romeo. State Coordinating Officer, Ralph J. Hobrat of the Michigan State Police Emergency Management Division, said, “You can visit whatever center is most convenient regardless of where you live. Or you can call the FEMA Helpline, also at 1-800-621-FEMA, to get answers to any disaster-related questions.”

The June 30 Presidential disaster declaration made assistance available to eligible residents in 19 Michigan counties. Those counties include: Barry, Berrien, Cass, Genesee, Gladwin, Ingham, Ionia, Jackson, Kent, Livingston, Macomb, Mecosta, Oakland, Ottawa, Sanilac, Shiawassee, St. Clair, St. Joseph and Wayne.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: