As Deadline Looms, Disaster Aid Exceeds $11 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
July 20, 2004
Release Number: 

DES MOINES - With the July 26 application deadline only days away, officials report that aid approved for individuals, families and businesses in connection with the May 25 Presidential disaster declaration for Iowa has reached more than $11 million. According to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HLSEM), the funds are offered as grants and low-interest disaster loans for losses due to severe storms, tornadoes and flooding between May 19 and June 24.

The following is an update of assistance provided through Individual Assistance programs, which are available in 75 counties:

  • 4,483 individuals have registered for assistance through FEMA's toll-free number.
  • More than $4.6 million in Housing Assistance grants has been approved for Iowans. This includes rental assistance grants and home repair/replacement grants.
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has issued 3,731 loan applications to homeowners, renters, and business owners and approved more than $5.5 million in low-interest disaster loans.
  • Slightly more than $1 million in Other Needs Assistance grants has been approved. This includes grants for medical, dental, funeral, personal property, transportation, and other eligible expenses.

In 49 counties, aid mainly for emergency services, debris removal and repairing and rebuilding infrastructure is available through Public Assistance programs. Applicants for Public Assistance are governmental entities and, in some cases, eligible non-profit organizations. Nine applicants' briefings have been held to start the process of delivering aid through Public Assistance programs.

The Presidential disaster declaration now includes 77 counties, up from the original group of 14. Counties where both Individual Assistance and Public Assistance are available are Adair, Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Calhoun, Cass, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Dallas, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Grundy, Guthrie, Hancock, Howard, Humboldt, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Linn, Lucas, Marshall, Mitchell, Page, Pocahontas, Polk, Sac, Shelby, Story, Tama, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth and Wright.

Counties where only Individual Assistance is available are Adams, Buena Vista, Carroll, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Des Moines, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Louisa, Madison, Mills, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, Palo Alto, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Scott, Wapello, Warren, Washington and Wayne.

Counties where only Public Assistance is available are Ida and Taylor.

Through July 26, Iowans who suffered losses due to severe weather may apply for assistance by using the FEMA toll-free registration number: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for those who are speech- or hearing-impaired. Recovery specialists are available to take calls from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Those who have questions about the SBA loan application process or their individual loans may call 1-800-366-6303 between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Officials urge applicants to complete their loan paperwork as soon as possible. If the loan application is not returned, it could delay other forms of assistan...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top