Main Content

Only One Week Left To Apply For Federal Disaster Aid

Release date: 
July 19, 2004
Release Number: 

DES MOINES - With the deadline just one week away, officials urge Iowans who suffered losses due to severe storms, tornadoes and flooding between May 19 and June 24 to apply for assistance soon if they have not already done so. According to the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HLSEM), the deadline for applying for aid under President Bush's disaster declaration is Monday July 26.

In 75 Iowa counties, a variety of aid is available to individuals, families and businesses under FEMA's Individual Assistance program. Included are housing assistance grants for repairs and short-term rentals, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), and Other Needs Assistance grants.

Counties where Individual Assistance is available are: Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Clinton, Dallas, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Howard, Humboldt, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Kossuth, Linn, Louisa, Lucas, Madison, Marshall, Mills, Mitchell, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, Page, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Polk, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Sac, Scott, Shelby, Story, Tama, Wapello, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth and Wright.

Iowans who suffered losses may apply by using the FEMA toll-free registration number: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for those who are speech- or hearing-impaired. Recovery specialists are available to take calls from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division was known as the Iowa Emergency Management Division until July 2003. The current name reflects the dual nature of the Division to provide programs and resources for both homeland security and emergency management efforts.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: