Get Your Disaster Unemployment Assistance (Dua) Applications In Now!

Main Content
Release date: 
July 19, 2004
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- There is only ONE week remaining for workers in Brown, Clay, Delaware, Green, Henry, Jasper, Lake, Madison, Monroe, Newton, Owen, Putnam, and Tipton counties to apply for i (DUA). Their application deadline is July 23.

There are TWO weeks remaining for workers in Adams, Allen, Dearborn, Decatur, DeKalb, Franklin, Huntington, Jennings, Kosciusko, Noble, Ohio, Ripley, Switzerland, Wells, and Whitley counties to apply. Their application deadline is July 30.

Hoosier residents in these counties may be eligible for weekly benefit payments under the DUA program. The program extends coverage to people who are not eligible for regular federal unemployment. Farmers, self-employed persons, those living or working in the affected areas at the time of the disaster and others whose jobs were affected as a result of the storms may qualify for assistance and should stress that they are applying for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Applications can be obtained by visiting a local WorkOne Center. To get information about the closest WorkOne Center, call 1-888-WorkOne. Applicants will need a social security number, the name, address and phone number of their last employer, the dates they worked there, and photo ID. Self-employed applicants should also be prepared to provide information about earnings from their previous federal tax year.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top