Emergency Declaration Period Extended

Main Content
Release date: 
July 15, 2004
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Michael D. Brown, Under Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), announced the reopening of the incident period for the severe storms, tornadoes, and floods in Indiana. It now includes damage that occurred on May 25 and 26, 2004. This action adds two days to the original declaration date of May 27.

The two days were added as a result of additional damage information obtained by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), State of Indiana Emergency Management officials and local government agencies.

The deadline for registering with FEMA remains August 2, so it is very important that all individuals who suffered damage on those two additional days act quickly by calling the toll-free registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Federal assistance for residents may include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top