Disaster Recovery Centers Open In Kent And Macomb Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
July 15, 2004
Release Number: 

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- Federal and State recovery officials announced the opening today of Disaster Recovery Centers in Kent and Macomb counties to serve homeowners, renters and business people who have already called to register for assistance.

A Kent County center is open today in Plainfield Township (Grand Rapids) at the Plainfield Fire Station Headquarters, 4383 Plainfield Avenue, NE. In Macomb County, a center opened in Romeo at 209 Dickenson Street. Both centers will be open through Sunday, July 18 from 9:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Thereafter, the centers will be open Monday through Saturday from 9:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice.

"You are not required to visit a Disaster Recovery Center to get answers to your questions after you have applied for disaster assistance. You can get further information by calling the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362)," explained Federal Coordinating Officer Marianne C. Jackson.

State Coordinating Officer, F/Lt. Ralph J.Hobrat of the Michigan State Police Emergency Management Division stated, "You can visit whatever center is convenient regardless of where you live. Disaster experts at each center will be available to answer your questions about assistance, help you complete your U.S. Small Business Administration loan application and give you information about how to reduce future disaster damage."

Recovery officials remind renters, homeowners and business owners in declared counties who suffered damage or loss in the severe weather that occurred between May 20 and 24 to apply for assistance by calling toll-free, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-4562-7585 for those with hearing or speech impairment.

Declared counties include: Barry, Berrien, Cass, Genesee, Gladwin, Ingham, Ionia, Jackson, Kent, Livingston, Macomb, Mecosta, Oakland, Ottawa, Sanilac, Shiawassee, St. Clair, St. Joseph and Wayne.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top