Disaster Aid For Kentuckians Climbs Above $30 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
July 15, 2004
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Disaster aid for 78 Kentucky counties impacted by severe storms and flooding between May 26 and June 18 now exceeds $30 million. More than 8,600 households and business have applied to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for a wide range of federal and state disaster assistance programs.

“We’re continuing to provide help throughout the designated areas,” said Michael Bolch, the federal official coordinating the response for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). “We urge you to call soon. Don’t disqualify yourself by not registering.”

Kentuckians who incurred damages but have yet to register are urged to call FEMA’s toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY). Phone lines are Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (EDT and CDT), until further notice.

Approved disaster assistance to date:

  • Grants totaling $11.3 million have been approved for individual housing assistance (includes temporary housing, repair, replacement, and permanent housing construction).
  • $6.3 million has been approved for Other Needs Assistance (ONA) grants. Other needs include disaster-related expenses or serious needs such as personal property, medical, dental, transportation, etc.
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved almost $13 million in low-interest disaster-related loans. There have been 4,499 loan applications issued and 977 applications accepted. The SBA is urging homeowners, renters and businesses to promptly return their completed applications.
  • To date, 8,621 Kentuckians have registered for some form of state/FEMA assistance. In the last week alone, 734 homeowners, renters or businesses called to register for help with uninsured losses.
  • Over 97 percent of requests (7,343 of 7,562) for FEMA housing inspections have been completed.
  • 1,957 people have visited Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) that have been operating since June 18. A visiting DRC is in Pike County July 15 through July 17 and will be in Johnson County July 19 and July 20 at Johnson County Community Center, 232 Preston St., in Paintsville. The hours will be from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  • Deadline to register for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) for the original 66 declared counties is July 17. Applicants who were employed in Bath, Fleming, Hancock, Lewis, Mason, Nicholas and Robertson counties have until July 25. Those employed in Boyd, Carter, Jackson and Greenup can apply until August 9. Information and applications are available at local Department for Employment Services offices.
  • Inspections are under way in all 39 of the counties declared eligible for Public Assistance (PA). Local and state officials are working with FEMA representatives to identify disaster-related infrastructure repair projects. PA applications must be submitted by July 21 in Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Franklin, Harlan, Henderson, Jackson, Knott, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Letcher, Menifee, Ohio, Pulaski, Rowan, and Wolfe counties. The deadline for Hancock County is July 24 and Lincoln County applications are due by July 30. The application period has closed in the initial 17 counties declared for PA

The 78 counties that have been approved for Individual Assistance are: Bath, Bell, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Breathitt, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Carroll, Carter, Casey, Christian, Clark, Clay, Crittenden, Daviess, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Garrard, Grayson, Greenup, Hancock, Hardin, Harlan, Hart, Henderson, Henry, Hopkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Lewis, Leslie, Letcher, ...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top