Three Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) To Close

Main Content
Release date: 
July 14, 2004
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Three State/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will be closing this weekend officials announced today. Effective close of business Friday, July 16, the Allen County DRC, located at Ivy Tech State College, 3800 N. Anthony Blvd, Fort Wayne, will be permanently closed.

Closing the following day, Saturday, July 17, are the Marion and Tippecanoe County DRCs. The Marion County DRC is located at Perry Township Community Center, 4925 South Shelby in Indianapolis and the Tippecanoe DRC is located at the Emergency Management Office Bldg, 629 North 6th St. in Lafayette.

One Disaster Recovery Center located in Crawford County will continue to operate Monday through Saturday 10 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. at the Marengo Elementary School, 179 Elm St. in Marengo.

“Even after centers close, FEMA is just a telephone call away,” said Justo “Tito” Hernandez, federal coordinating officer for the disaster. People affected by the tornadoes and floods that occurred from May 27 through June 25 may still call the toll free number to register for assistance until August 2. They may also call for information regarding the status of their applications. The toll-free number is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Hearing or speech impaired individuals can call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top