Main Content

One Week Left To Apply For Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Release date: 
July 12, 2004
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Residents of any of the 37 disaster-declared counties who became unemployed as a result of the severe weather that occurred between May 18 and May 31 have until close of business Monday, July 19 to apply for federal disaster unemployment assistance (DUA) benefits.

“The DUA program, which is administered by the state, extends coverage to self-employed people, farm workers and others who have lost employment as a direct result of the disaster,” Buck Katt, state coordinating officer, said. “The program is specifically designed to assist those who are otherwise ineligible for Missouri state unemployment benefits.”

Eligible persons include: self-employed agricultural and hourly workers; self-employed business people; business owners unable to provide services; and other unemployed workers who are out of work as a direct result of the disaster and who do not otherwise qualify for unemployment benefits.

Those interested should first call the FEMA toll-free application line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) – or TTY 1-800-462-7585 – and then apply call 1-800-788-4002 to file a claim.

The availability of this program was triggered by a June 11 disaster declaration by President Bush and extends to those living or working in any of the 37 counties eligible for individual assistance. The program is 100-percent funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: