Long-Term Recovery Committees Established

Main Content
Release date: 
July 9, 2004
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Recovery officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Kentucky Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (KYVOAD) announced the formation of long-term recovery committees in order to coordinate the resources of various community volunteer organizations with the unmet needs of Kentucky disaster victims.

A total of seven recovery committees have been established throughout the commonwealth to organize voluntary donations of money, manpower and material with the specific needs of Kentuckians. The hardest hit counties of Floyd, Pike, Magoffin, Martin and Johnson will each have a long-term recovery committee, and two additional committees will cover western and central Kentucky. Existing voluntary organizations and networks are crucial resources in the community to help people recover from a disaster.

“I call these people and groups the unsung heroes of the disaster,” said Art Storey, the FEMA Voluntary Agency Liaison. “They work with individuals to help them come up with their own long-term recovery plan.”

The long-term recovery committees will match up individuals who need additional support in the recovery process with registered case managers. The case managers will work with individual disaster victims to assess their remaining disaster related needs and enlist the appropriate volunteer organization that can provide ongoing help.

Individuals who wish to volunteer or make financial contributions are also asked to contact the long-term recovery committees.

Those who have continuing disaster needs as a result of recent severe storms even after receiving federal disaster assistance, or individuals who wish to volunteer their time or resources can use the following numbers to contact their nearest long-term recovery committee:

  • Floyd County (Community Action): 606-886-2929
  • Johnson County (Community Action): 606-789-6515
  • Magoffin County (Community Action): 606-249-2217
  • Martin County (Community Action): 606-298-3217
  • Pike County (Community Action) 606-432-2775
  • Central Kentucky [other counties east of Interstate 75], (Big Sandy Area Community Action): 606-789-3641
  • Western Kentucky [all counties west of Interstate 75], (Louisville Chapter of the American Red Cross): 502-561-3642

Many volunteer organizations in Kentucky have pulled together to provide a coordinated approach to help disaster victims with a wide range of assistance without undue overlapping of services. They have set up shelters, prepared, served or delivered meals, provided counseling services, cleaned up homes, provided clothing and other essential needs, and will be helping with home repairs and reconstruction. Voluntary organizations currently contributing time and resources to the Kentucky disaster recovery include:

  • The American Red Cross
  • Catholic Charities
  • Christian Disaster Response
  • The Christian Reformed World Relief Committee
  • Church Of The Brethren
  • Church World Service
  • Lutheran Disaster Response
  • Mennonite Disaster Service
  • Presbyterian Church (USA)
  • The Salvation Army
  • Seventh Day Adventist
  • Society Of St. Vincent Depaul
  • Southern Baptist Convention
  • United Methodist Committee On Relief

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department ...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top