Public Assistance (Infrastructure) Grant Applicant Deadlines

Main Content
Release date: 
July 8, 2004
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Disaster recovery officials are reminding all eligible local governments and other Public Assistance (PA) applicants that the deadline to apply for possible reimbursement is fast approaching.

The PA program is run by the state with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) contributing 75 percent of approved project funding. The state determines how non-federal funding (up to 25 percent) is split among applicants.

PA reimburses eligible applicants that incur serious costs as a direct result of the disaster. Work eligible for reimbursement may include the removal of debris from roads, emergency protective measures such as the cost of adding police and fire crews to ensure public safety. Public facilities such as schools, roads and bridges, public parks and recreational facilities may be eligible for PA reimbursement costs.

Eligible applicants for PA include state agencies, local governments, Native American nations and certain private non-profit entities. Examples of eligible private nonprofit facilities are electric and water utilities, custodial care and medical organizations and educational institutions. These nonprofits must hold current federal tax-exempt status or state certification of nonprofit status under state law.

Currently PA program specialists are working with applicants on costs incurred from the series of severe storms that swept through the state on May 26 through June 18. Application deadlines are set from 30-days after the federal declaration for each county resulting in differing deadlines for various counties.


July 10        Clay, Daviess, Floyd, Grayson, Henry, Johnson, Knox, Leslie, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Oldham, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, and Webster

July 21 Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Franklin, Harlan, Henderson, Jackson, Knott, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Letcher, Menifee, Ohio, Pulaski, Rowan, and Wolfe

July 24 Hancock

July 30 Lincoln

Individuals and households in the 78 Kentucky counties declared eligible for Individual Assistance (IA) programs are not affected by PA deadlines. The deadline for IA registration is August 9. Residents of IA-declared counties may register by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), (TTY) 1-800-462-7585, between 8 a.m.-6 p.m. seven days a week.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top