Main Content

Disaster Aid For Iowans Climbs Above $10 Million

Release date: 
July 6, 2004
Release Number: 

DES MOINES, Iowa -- Six weeks after the May 25 Presidential disaster declaration for Iowa, more than $10 million in grants and low-interest disaster loans has been approved for Iowans affected by recent severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding, according to figures released today by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HLSEM).

The following is an update of assistance provided through Individual Assistance programs, which are available in 75 counties:

  • 4,102 individuals have called FEMA’s toll-free number to apply for assistance.
  • More than $4.3 million in Housing Assistance grants has been approved for Iowans. This includes rental assistance grants and home repair/replacement grants.
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has issued 3,385 loan applications to homeowners, renters, and business owners and approved $4.9 million in low-interest disaster loans.
  • Nearly $889,000 in Other Needs Assistance grants has been approved. This includes grants for medical, dental, funeral, personal property, transportation, and other eligible expenses.
  • Iowans made 1,422 visits to Disaster Recovery Centers before the final one closed last Thursday.

In 49 counties, aid mainly for emergency services, debris removal and repairing and rebuilding infrastructure is available through Public Assistance programs. Applicants for Public Assistance are governmental entities and, in some cases, eligible non-profit organizations. Eight applicants’ briefings have been held to start the process of delivering aid through Public Assistance programs.

The Presidential disaster declaration now includes 77 counties, up from the original group of 14. Counties where both Individual Assistance and Public Assistance are available are Adair, Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Calhoun, Cass, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Dallas, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Grundy, Guthrie, Hancock, Howard, Humboldt, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Linn, Lucas, Marshall, Mitchell, Page, Pocahontas, Polk, Sac, Shelby, Story, Tama, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth and Wright.

Counties where only Individual Assistance is available are Adams, Buena Vista, Carroll, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Des Moines, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Louisa, Madison, Mills, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, Palo Alto, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Scott, Wapello, Warren, Washington and Wayne.

Counties where only Public Assistance is available are Ida and Taylor.

Iowans who suffered losses due to severe weather between May 19 and June 24 may apply for assistance by using the FEMA toll-free registration number: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for those who are speech- or hearing-impaired. Recovery specialists are available to take calls from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday until further notice.

Those who have questions about the SBA loan application process or their individual loans may call 1-800-366-6303 between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Officials urge applicants to complete their loan paperwork as soon as possible. If the loan application is not returned, it could delay other forms of assistance, including possible grants.

Those who wish to discuss their applications for Other Needs Assistance may call 1-866-434-4692. The TTY...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: