Thirteen Additional Iowa Counties Eligible For Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
July 2, 2004
Release Number: 

DES MOINES, Iowa -- The Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HLSEM) announced today that thirteen Iowa counties have been added to the May 25 Presidential disaster declaration. Residents in the following counties are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance: Appanoose, Davis, Des Moines, Hamilton, Henry, Louisa, Lucas, Monroe, Muscatine, Scott, Wapello, Washington, and Wayne.

Aid is now available in these counties under the Individual Assistance program, which is designed to help individuals, families and businesses. Included are housing assistance grants for repairs and short-term rentals, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), and Other Needs Assistance grants.

All Iowans who experienced losses due to severe storms, tornadoes and flooding anytime between May 19 and June 24 are encouraged to call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired, to start the application process and get answers to any questions they may have about disaster assistance programs. Recovery specialists are available to take calls from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. The deadline to apply for assistance is July 26.

The Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division was known as the Iowa Emergency Management Division until July 2003. The current name reflects the dual nature of the Division to provide programs and resources for both homeland security and emergency management efforts.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top